Creamy vegan pasta with coconut milk, sweet corn and spinach

Easy, healthy and delicious! I am not much of a cheese/dairy person, and prefer my pasta without these elements.

I wanted to make something quick and simple for lunch today. A recent covid attack has left me with little energy and this is the first day I am making all meals. I also had to make do with ingredients I had at home, but this dish came together beautifully. It’s incredibly creamy, simple to make and hardly takes any time. I used macaroni to make this dish.

Ingredients

1 cup uncooked macaroni

3 cups chopped spinach

1/2 cup sweet corn kernels, boiled

200ml thick coconut milk

1/2 cup water

2-3 tsp red chilli flakes

1 tsp dried basil

1 tsp dried parsely

1 tsp coarsely crushed black pepper

2 tsp fresh lemon juice

Salt, to taste

1 tbsp olive oil

Instructions

1. Cook the macaroni as per instructions on the package. I bring salted water to a boil, add the macaroni and drain when al dente.

2. Add olive oil to a pan and toss in the spinach. Cover and let it wilt. Then, add the boiled sweet corn kernels and saute. Add in the chilli flakes, basil, parsley and pepper. Saute for a couple of minutes.

3. Add coconut milk and water. Let it cook for a couple of minutes.

4. Add macaroni and salt. Mix well, but gently. Take off heat, add lemon juice and transfer to a serving dish. Serve hot!

I served these with some grilled cauliflower on the side since I had to finish up the vegetable:)

Notes

1. You can add chopped garlic along with the spinach.

2. You can add grated cheese on top before you serve.

Leave a comment