Potlakaya kobbari kura|Snake gourd with coconut

This is a simple, quick to make curry. It can be paired with rotis or rice and pappu/dal.

Ingredients

2 cups snake gourd, sliced

2 tbsp grated fresh coconut

1/2 tbsp ghee

1/4 tsp mustard seeds

1/2 tsp urad dal

1/2 tsp chana dal

2 dry red chillies, broken in half

2 green chillies, slit lengthwise

8-10 curry leaves

1/4 tsp turmeric powder

Salt, to taste

Instructions

1. Add snake gourd to a pan, add sufficient water to cover the slices. Cover and boil until tender. Drain and set aside.

2. Heat ghee in a pan. Add mustard seeds and once they splutter, add urad and chana dals. When they turn light brown, add red chillies, green chillies and curry leaves.

3. Add snake gourd, coconut, salt and turmeric. Mix well, saute for a minute. Transfer to a serving bowl.

2 thoughts on “Potlakaya kobbari kura|Snake gourd with coconut

  1. Hi,

    Your recipes are so similar to how my mom or grandmother used to make. I am a Telugu Brahmin, it is more relevant to me not because of the religion factor but the food habits we had throughout my childhood.
    If you have more such traditional dishes, please do share, I feel happy when I see them and I would love to make it at home.

    -Anuradha

    Like

Leave a comment